2021-22 Academic Calendar (tentative)

This calendar is tentative and is subject to change. 

If you have questions concerning dates on this calendar, please contact the Luther College Registrar’s Office at (563) 387-1167 or [email protected].

Fall Semester 2021

Monday, August 23 – Friday, August 27
Orientation of new international students
Thursday, August 26 – Friday, August 27
Faculty days
Saturday, August 28
First-year students arrive
Saturday, August 28 – Tuesday, August 31
Orientation of new students
Sunday, August 29
Returning students arrive
Wednesday, September 1
Fall semester classes begin
Friday, September 10
Last day to add full semester classes
TBD
Family Weekend
Tuesday, September 28
Last day to withdraw from full semester class without record
TBD
Homecoming
Friday, October 15
End of first half of semester
Saturday, October 16 – Wednesday, October 20
Fall vacation
Friday, October 29
Last day to withdraw from full semester classes with "W" and last day to drop Senior Projects without record
Monday, November 22
Last day to withdraw from Senior Projects with a "W"
Wednesday, November 24 – Sunday, November 28
Thanksgiving vacation
Thursday, December 2 – Sunday, December 5
Christmas at Luther
Friday, December 10
Last day of classes
Saturday, December 11
Reading day
Monday, December 13 – Thursday, December 16
Final examinations

January Term 2022

Tuesday, January 3
Classes begin
Thursday, January 26
End of term

Spring Semester 2022

Wednesday, February 2
Spring semester classes begin
Friday, February 11
Last day to add full semester classes
Tuesday, March 1
Last day to withdraw from full semester class without record
Friday, March 18
End of first half of semester
Saturday, March 19 – Sunday, March 27
Spring vacation
Tuesday, April 5
Last day to withdraw from full semester class with"W" and last day to drop Senior Projects without record
Friday, April 15 - Monday, April 18
Easter vacation
Monday, April 25
Last day to withdraw from Senior Projects with a "W"
Friday, May 6
Student Research Symposium (no classes)
Friday, May 13
Last day of classes
Saturday, May 14
Reading day
Monday, May 16 – Thursday, May 19
Final examinations
Sunday, May 22
Commencement

Summer 2022

Tuesday, May 31
Summer session I begins
TBD
New student registration
Friday, June 24
Summer session I ends
Monday, June 27
Summer session II begins
Friday, July 22
Summer session II ends