2018-19 Academic Calendar

If you have questions concerning dates on this calendar, please contact the Luther College Registrar’s Office at (563) 387-1167 or [email protected].

Fall Semester 2018

Monday, August 20 – 24
Orientation of new international students
Thursday, August 23 – 24
Faculty days
Saturday, August 25
First-year students arrive
Saturday, August 25 – 28
Orientation of new students
Sunday, August 26
Returning students arrive
Wednesday, August 29
Fall semester classes begin
Friday, September 7
Last day to add full semester classes
Friday, September 21-Sunday, September 23
Family Weekend
Tuesday, September 25
Last day to withdraw from full semester class without record
Thursday, October 11
End of first half of semester
Friday, October 12 – 16
Fall vacation
Friday, October 26
Last day to withdraw from full semester classes with "W" and last day to drop Senior Projects without record
Friday, October 26-Sunday, October 28
Homecoming
Monday, November 19
Last day to withdraw from Senior Projects with a "W"
Wednesday, November 21 – 25
Thanksgiving vacation
Thursday, November 29 – December 2
Christmas at Luther
Friday, December 7
Last day of classes
Saturday, December 8
Reading day
Monday, December 10 – 13
Final examinations

January Term 2019

Monday, January 7
Classes begin
Wednesday, January 30
End of term

Spring Semester 2019

Wednesday, February 6
Spring semester classes begin
Friday, February 15
Last day to add full semester classes
Tuesday, March 5
Last day to withdraw from full semester class without record
Friday, March 22
End of first half of semester
Saturday, March 23 – 31
Spring Vacation
Tuesday, April 9
Last day to withdraw from full semester class with "W" and last day to drop Senior Projects without record
Friday, April 19 - 22
Easter Vacation
Monday, April 29
Last day to withdraw from Senior Projects with a "W"
Friday, May 10
Student Research Symposium (no classes)
Friday, May 17
Last day of classes
Saturday, May 18
Reading day
Monday, May 20 – 23
Final examinations
Sunday, May 26
Commencement

Summer 2019

Monday, June 3
Summer session I begins
TBD
New student registration
Friday, June 28
Summer session I ends
Monday, July 1
Summer session II begins
Friday, July 26
Summer session II ends