Academic Calendar

Luther operates on a 4-1-4 academic calendar. First semester runs from September to December, followed by a three-week January Term. Second semester runs from February to May. In the liberal arts tradition of broad inquiry, students often use J-term to study abroad, perform internships in their field, or study one topic intensely while on campus.

Two four-week summer sessions are also offered at Luther, one in June and another in July.

2013-14 Academic Calendar

If you have questions concerning dates on this calendar, please contact the Luther College Registrar’s Office at (563) 387-1167 or registrar@luther.edu.

Fall Semester 2013

Monday, August 26–Friday, August 30
Orientation of new international students
Thursday, August 29–Friday, August 30
Faculty days
Saturday, August 31
First-year students arrive
Saturday, August 31—Tuesday, September 3
Orientation of new students
Sunday, September 1
Returning students arrive
Wednesday, September 4
Fall semester classes begin
Friday, September 13
Last day to add full semester classes and due date of incomplete grades from previous semester
Friday, September 20—Sunday, September 22
Family Weekend
Tuesday, October 1
Last day to withdraw from full semester class without record
Friday, October 4—Sunday, October 6
Homecoming
Friday, October 18
End of first half of semester
Saturday, October 19—Wednesday, October 23
Fall vacation
Friday, November 1
Last day to withdraw from full semester classes with "W"
Tuesday, November 26
Senior projects due by 5 p.m.
Wednesday, November 27–Sunday, December 1
Thanksgiving vacation
Thursday, December 5—Sunday, December 8
Christmas at Luther
Friday, December 13
Last day of classes
Saturday, December 14
Reading day
Monday, December 16—Thursday, December 19
Final examinations

January Term 2014

Monday, January 6
Classes begin
Wednesday, January 29
End of term

Spring Semester 2014

Wednesday, February 5
Spring semester classes begin
Friday, February 14
Last day to add full semester classes and due date of incomplete grades from previous semester
Tuesday, March 4
Last day to withdraw from full semester class without record
Friday, March 21
End of first half of semester
Saturday, March 22–Sunday, March 30
Spring vacation
Tuesday, April 8
Last day to withdraw from full semester class with"W"
Friday, April 18–Monday, April 21
Easter vacation
Wednesday, April 30
Senior projects due by 5 p.m.
Friday, May 9
Student Research Symposium
Tuesday, May 13
Senior recognition convocation
Friday, May 16
Last day of classes
Saturday, May 17
Reading day
Monday, May 19–Thursday, May 22
Final examinations
Sunday, May 25
Commencement

Summer 2014

May 3, June 9, June 16, June 23
New Student Registration

Monday, June 2
Summer session I begins
Friday, June 27
Summer session I ends
Monday, June 30
Summer session II begins
Friday, July 25
Summer session II ends