Spring 2012

Theme: Search for Justice

Wednesday, February 1
• Reader (14-29)
• Introduction
Nicholas Kristoff and Sheryl WuDunn, Half the Sky: Turning Oppression into Opportunity for Women Worldwide, Dedication (v), Epigraph (vii), Introduction (xi-xxii), Chs. 1-2 (3-45)

Thursday, February 2
• Reader (29-31)
Distinguished Lecture: Nicholas Kristof, “Half the Sky: Turning Oppression into Opportunity for Women Worldwide” (7:00 PM, CFL Main Hall)

Friday, February 3
• Reader (31-32)
Half the Sky, Chs. 3-6 (47-107)

Monday, February 6
• Reader (32)
Half the Sky, Chs. 7-9 (109-165)

Wednesday, February 8
• Reader (33)
Half the Sky, Chs. 10-12 (167-219)
Reading Response Paper on Half the Sky Due in class

Friday, February 10
Reader (33)
Half the Sky, Chs. 13-14 (221- 254)
• Review and Common Quiz on Half the Sky

Monday, February 13
• Reader (34-40)
• Research Unit (Your instructor will provide a detailed syllabus for your section’s Research Unit)

Wednesday, February 15
Research Unit: Consult your section syllabus

Friday, February 17
 Research Unit: Consult your section syllabus

Monday, February 20
Research Unit: Consult your section syllabus

Wednesday, February 22
Research Unit: Consult your section syllabus

Friday, February 24
Research Unit: Consult your section syllabus

Monday, February 27
Research Unit: Consult your section syllabus

Wednesday, February 29
Research Unit: Consult your section syllabus

Friday, March 2
Research Unit: Consult your section syllabus

Monday, March 5
Research Unit: Consult your section syllabus

Wednesday, March 7
• Lecture: “History, Fiction, and the Search for the Truth: The Case of Martin Guerre” (Christman, V; V206)
Reader (40-43)
• Natalie Zemon Davis, The Return of Martin Guerre, Preface (vii-x), Introduction and Ch. 1 (1-18)

Friday, March 9
• Reader (43)
 The Return of Martin Guerre, Chs. 2-5 (19-50)
• First Version of Research Paper Due

Monday, March 12
• Reader (44)
The Return of Martin Guerre, Chs. 3-9 (51-93)

Wednesday, March 14
Reader (44-45)
The Return of Martin Guerre, Chs. 10-12 and Epilogue (94-125)
• Review and Common Quiz on The Return of Martin Guerre

Friday, March 16
• Midterm Exam

Saturday, March 17—Sunday, March 25
• Spring Break

Monday, March 26
Lecture: “Reading the Murderous Mother: Power, Desire, and Vengeance in Medea” (Weldon, V206)
• Reader (45-49)
Euripides, Medea

Wednesday, March 28
• Reader (49-51)
• Medea (re-read complete play)

Friday, March 30
• Reader (51-52)
• Review and Common Quiz on Medea

Monday, April 2
• Lecture: “If Philosophers were King: Social Justice through Social Engineering?” (Narveson; V206)
Reader (52-56)
Thomas More, Utopia, Introduction (vii-xxiii), 1-35

Wednesday, April 4
• Reader (56-57)
• Utopia, 35-50

Friday, April 6—Monday, April 9
Easter Vacation

Wednesday, April 11
• Reader (57-58)
Utopia, 51-95

Friday, April 13
• Reader (58)
Utopia, 95-139

Monday, April 16
 Review and Common Quiz on Utopia

Wednesday, April 18
• Lecture: “Justice in Colonial and Post-Colonial Umuofia” (Mtisi; V206)
• Reader (59-61)
• Chinua Achebe, Things Fall Apart, Chs. 1-3 (1-25)

Friday, April 20
• Reader (61-62)
Things Fall Apart, Chs. 4-8 (26-74)

Monday, April 23
• Reader (62-63)
Things Fall Apart, Chs. 9-13 (75-125)

Wednesday, April 25
• Reader (63)
Things Fall Apart, Chs. 14-19 (127-167)

Friday, April 27
• Reader (64)
Things Fall Apart, Chs. 20-25 (169-209)
• Review and Common Quiz on Things Fall Apart

Monday, April 30
Reader (65-66)
• Writing Workshop on Final Paper

Wednesday, May 2
Reader (66-71)
• Martin Luther King, Jr., “Letter from Birmingham Jail” (Reader 74-94)

Friday, May 4
• Celebrating Research: An All-College Symposium
• Final Paper Due at normal class time

Monday, May 7
Reader (71-73)
• Martin Luther King, Jr., “The Quest for Peace and Justice” (Reader 95-108)

Wednesday, May 9
• Lecture: “‘To the long and bitter, but beautiful, struggle’: Martin Luther King, Jr.’s Evolving Pursuit of Justice” (Ervin; V206)

Friday, May 11
• Review and Common Quiz on Martin Luther King, Jr.

Exam Week, May 14-17
• Final Exam