Spring 2013

Spring 2013 SYLLABUS

Enduring Questions: What can we know and how can we know our understanding is reliable?

Friday, February 1
Reader (14-30)
• Introduction (Reader 14-27)
• Lecture: “Who Knows????  History, Fiction, and Martin Guerre” (Christman, V; V206)
• Natalie Zemon Davis, The Return of Martin Guerre, Preface (vii-x), Introduction and Ch. 1 (1-18)

Monday, February 4
Reader (30)
The Return of Martin Guerre, Chs. 2-5 (19-50)

Wednesday, February 6
Reader (31-32)
The Return of Martin Guerre, Chs. 3-9 (51-93)

Friday, February 8
Reader (32)
The Return of Martin Guerre, Chs. 10-12 and  Epilogue (94-125)

Monday, February 11
Reader (32-34)
• Robert Finlay, “The Refashioning of Martin Guerre” (552-571) and Natalie Zemon Davis, “On the Lame” (572-604)  JSTOR.
• Review and Common Quiz on Martin Guerre and readings.

Wednesday, February 13
Reader (34-43)
• The Research Project (Your instructor will provide a detailed syllabus for your section’s Research Unit)

Friday, February 15
• Research Project: Consult your section syllabus
• Response Paper on Davis due

Monday, February 18
• Research Project: Consult your section syllabus

Wednesday, February 20
• Research Project: Consult your section syllabus

Friday, February 22
• Research Project: Consult your section syllabus

Monday, February 25
• Research Project: Consult your section syllabus

Wednesday, February 27   
• Research Project: Consult your section syllabus

Friday, March 1
• Research Project: Consult your section syllabus

Monday, March 4
• Research Project: Consult your section syllabus

Wednesday, March 6
• Writing Workshop on the Research Paper

Friday, March 8
Reader (44-50)
• Lecture: “Perhaps They’re All Telling the Truth: Kurosawa, Roshoman and Subjective Knowledge” (Hurley, S; V206)
• Ryūnosuke Akutagawa, “In a Grove” and “Rashomon” (Reader 73-98).

Saturday, March 9
Reader (44-50)
• Film: Rashōmon (10 am and 1:30 pm; V206)

Sunday, March 10
Reader (44-50)
• Film: Rashōmon (3:30 pm and 7:30 pm; V206)

Monday, March 11
Reader (50)
• Discussion of “In a Grove” “Rashomon” and the film Rashōmon
• First version of Research Paper due

Wednesday, March 13
• Review and Common Quiz on Rashomon

Friday, March 15
Reader (50-56)
• Lecture: “Persepolis: A Look at Revolutionary Iran” (Caton, B; V206)
• Marjane Satrapi, Persepolis: The Story of a Childhood (1-153)

Monday, March 18
• Discussion of Persepolis

Wednesday, March 20
• Review and Common Quiz on Persepolis

Friday, March 22
• Midterm Exam

Saturday, March 23—Monday, April 1
• Spring/Easter Break

Enduring Question:  How do communities come to know? What are the limits of communal knowing?

Wednesday, April 3
Reader (57-60)
• Dava Sobel, Longitude: The True Story of a Lone Genius Who Solved the Greatest Scientific Problem of His Time (1-50)

Friday, April 5
• Lecture: “‘We were the first that ever burst/ Into that silent sea’: Finding a ship’s position with the first Sea Clock” (Preus, N; Wilkerson, J; V206)
Reader (60)
Longitude (51-99)

Monday, April 8
Reader (60-61)
Longitude (100-137)

Wednesday, April 10
Reader (61)
Longitude (138-175)
• Discussion and Common Quiz on Longitude

Friday, April 12
• Lecture: “The Limits of Communal Understanding in Early Colonial Umuofia” (Mtisi, R; V206)
Reader (62-64)
• Chinua Achebe, Things Fall Apart, Chs. 1-3 (1-25)

Monday, April 15
Reader (64-65)
Things Fall Apart, Chs. 4-8 (26-74)

Wednesday, April 17
Reader (65-66)
Things Fall Apart, Chs. 9-13 (75-125)

Friday, April 19
Reader (66-67)
Things Fall Apart, Chs. 14-19 (127-167)

Monday, April 22
Reader (67-68) Things Fall Apart, Chapters 20-25 (169-209)
• Review and Common Quiz on Things Fall Apart

Wednesday, April 24  
• Writing Workshop for Final Paper

Friday, April 26
Reader (68-70)
• Lecture: “Much Ado About Knowing” (Barry, N; V206)
• Shakespeare, Much Ado About Nothing, Acts 1-2

Monday, April 29
Reader (70-71)
Much Ado About Nothing, Acts 1-4

Wednesday, May 1
Reader (71-72)
Much Ado About Nothing, Acts 1-5        

Friday, May 3
• Celebrating Research: An All-College Symposium
• Final Paper Due

Monday, May 6
Reader (72)
Much Ado About Nothing, Acts 1-5

Wednesday, May 8
• Conclusion and Common Quiz on Much Ado About Nothing

Friday, May 10
• Review

Exam Week, May 13 thru May 16
• Final Exam