When a Mac is issued to a Faculty or Staff member, the account is created with a default password. This creates a login.keychain file in the User’s Home folder (~/Library/Keychains).
When the User changes their password, the Login Keychain does not get changed. From time to time, the Keychain prompt will appear asking for the Login Keychain. The user can either click Cancel twice or try to enter the correct password twice and fail each time. In either case, the Keychain still permits the task to continue.