Calendar of Events

Back to event listings

NCAA III Central Regional

  • Date: Saturday, March 2, 2013
  • Time: 9:00 am
  • Location: Dubuque, Iowa - Five Flags Center

Luther will send six wrestlers to the NCAA III National Championships. The top three place winners in each weight class qualified for the national finale.

The Norse posted a team total of 122.5 points and finished second to Wartburg who won the regional title with 161 points. University of Dubuque was third with 110.5 and Coe was fourth with 89.5.

The last time Luther qualified at least six wrestlers for the National Championships was 2009 when seven Norse made the trip. The school record is eight set in 2007.

Jayden DeVilbiss headlined today's national qualifiers capturing the individual title at 184. DeVilbiss defeated No. 2 ranked Brian Broll of Buena Vista in the title match 5-4. He opened the tournament defeating No. 5 ranked Sam Upah of Wartburg College by fall at 1:01. In the semifinal round he defeated No. 7 ranked Ryan Sheldon of Coe College 10-3. For his efforts he was named the Outstanding Wrestler of the tournament as awarded by the coaches.

Second place finishes were posted by Kyle Windquist (141) and Garrett Bonte (165). Widquist will be making his second consecutive appearance at the national championships, while Bonte has qualified for the first time. 

Evan Obert (133), Trent Flegel (197) and Nick Pearch (285) all placed third. Flegel will be making his second appearance, while Obert and Pearch have qualified for the first time.

The NCAA III National Championships will be held Mar. 15-16 at the Cedar Rapids Ice Arena, Cedar Rapids, Iowa.

Complete Results

Questions? Contact David Blanchard, post_to_results, 563-387-1586