Calendar of Events

Back to event listings

IIAC Tournament - Semifinals vs. Coe

  • Date: Thursday, February 26, 2015
  • Time: 7:00 pm
  • Location: Home

For the first time since 2007 the Luther women's basketball team will be playing for the Iowa Conference Tournament Championship. Tonight, Luther defeated Coe 89-82 in a classic battled that saw 10 players score double figures.

Luther led 41-32 at halftime and led by as many as 15 with a little under nine minutes left in the second frame. The Kohawks battled back and pulled to within seven twice, but free throws by Moran Lonning in the final seconds sealed the Norse victory.

Luther was led by Meagan Koepnick who scored a game high 22 points. Koepnick also became the 12th player in Luther women's basketball history to score 1,000 career points. Anna Madrigal and Moran Lonning both tallied 19 and Kylie Romeo chipped in 11. Solveig Nelson added eight off the bench in 20 minutes of action. 

Megan Hayes led the Kohawks with 19 points. Joning Hayes in double figures was Aleena Hobbs (17), Mickey Hansche (11), Jenna Lehman (10), Courtney McCrary (10) and Ashley Stulken (10).

Box Score

Luther will host the championship game on Saturday afternoon at 4:00 p.m. In the other semifinal tonight, No. 5 Wartburg defeated No. 1 Dubuque 72-68 in Dubuque, making Luther the highest seed remaining for the tournament finale. The winner of Saturday's game will earn the league's automatic bid to the NCAA III National Tournament. 

Questions? Contact David Blanchard, post_to_results, 563-387-1586