Calendar of Events

Back to event listings

Augsburg College Open

  • Date: Saturday, November 22, 2014
  • Time: 9:00 am
  • Location: Minneapolis, Minn.

Augsburg College hosted its annual Augsburg Open this afternoon in Minneapolis. No. 8 Luther finished the day with 17 members of its team placing.

Evan Obert (133), Drew Van Anrooy (141), Dakota Gray (149) and Jayden DeVilbiss (184) were all crowned champions in the Gold Division.

In the title bouts, Obert, ranked No. 5 in the NCAA III, defeated No. 7 Dustin Weinmann of UW-La Crosse 9-6. No. 3 Van Anrooy posted a 4-0 decision over Alphonso Vruno of Minnesota State Mankato, Dakota Gray defeated Rashad Kennedy of Augsburg 5-3, and No. 6 Jayden Devilbiss posted a tech fall (17-2) over Randy Null of Northwestern.

Also placing in the Gold Division was Javier Reyes (165 - 6th), Tristan Zurfluh (157 - 6th) and David Kramer (174 - 6th).

In the Silver Division, Julian Gendreau (125), Brian Burchett (141), Andrew Hartmann (149) and Derek Stork (174) all placed second. Mitch Kennedy (141) placed fourth and Gareth Ballard (133) finished sixth. Cody Hanson (125) completed the afternoon as the consolation champion.

In the Bronze Division, Jamaul Vaughn won the title at 174. He defeated unattached Javon Tolliver of Rochester Tech by major decision 10-2 in the title bout. Billy Poray (149) placed second and JD Sliger (141) placed third.

Complete Results (pdf)

Luther will begin its dual meet schedule at home on Tuesday, Nov. 25 when it will host UW-Eau Claire at 7:00 p.m.

Questions? Contact David Blanchard, post_to_results, 563-387-1586