Calendar of Events

Back to event listings

Symphony Orchestra Vienna Residency Tour Homecoming Concert

  • Date: Sunday, February 8, 2015
  • Time: 7:00 pm – 9:00 pm
  • Location: Center for Faith and Life, Main Hall

The Luther College Symphony Orchestra, under the direction of Daniel Baldwin, will perform their Vienna Residency Tour homecoming concert at 7 p.m. Sunday, Feb. 8, in the Center for Faith and Life Main Hall on the Luther College campus. The Symphony Orchestra has just returned from their January term trip to Austria and Germany, where they rehearsed and played three concerts including one performance in the Wiener Konzerthaus in Vienna.

The concert is open to the public with no charge for admission.

The concert may also be viewed via video streaming.

In the first part of the concert, Symphony Orchestra will perform "Three Dance Episodes" from the Leonard Bernstein musical "On the Town," and "Appalachian Spring" by Aaron Copland. The orchestra will also present "O Nobilissima Viriditas" by Brooke Joyce, the college's composer-in-residence.

After the intermission, the concert will feature a performance by internationally accomplished soloist and chamber musician Tarn Travers, who will collaborate with the orchestra on Jean Sibelius's "Concerto for Violin and Orchestra."


LCSO Vienna Homecoming 2015 



Leonard Bernstein (1918-1990)

Three Dance Episodes, from On the Town (1944)

            Dance of the Great Lover

            Lonely Town: Pas de deux

            Times Square Ballet


Brooke Joyce (b. 1973)

O Nobilissima Viriditas (2014)


Aaron Copland (1900 – 1990)

Appalachian Spring, Suite for Large Orchestra (1945)




Jean Sibelius (1865 – 1957)

Violin Concert in D minor, Op. 47 (1903/1905)

            Allegro moderato

            Adagio di molto

            Allegro, ma non tanto

Tarn Travers, violin


Questions? Contact Daniel Baldwin, 563-387-1692