2016 Initiation of New Members

Sigma Tau Delta

Alpha Beta Xi Chapter
Luther College

Annual Initiation Ceremony April 13, 2016
5:00p.m. Nobel Room

Welcome:  Amy Weldon, Campus Sponsor 

Initiation Ceremony by ΣΤΔ Officers

Election of Officers for 2016-17

"Hold your tongue and let me love!" the poetry of John Donne set to music old and new; CFL Recital Hall 


Membership in ΣΤΔ is an outward recognition of personal accomplishment.  The ΣΤΔ Chapter of Luther College has two main functions.  The first is that of an academic honor society:  “to confer distinction for high achievement in ... studies in English language and literature; to provide cultural stimulation, and to encourage creative and critical writing.” The second is “to furnish community interest” within the Department of English, its teachers and students. Thus ΣΤΔ organizes and hosts various programs, service projects, and social events.

Luther chapter members have attended the annual International Conventions almost every year since 1995. This spring, Emma Cassabaum, Madi Johnson, and Sarah Rickertsen presented their critical and creative work at the convention in Minneapolis, MN. These students will also present their work at Luther’s Student Research Symposium on May 6. Our chapter members have frequently been awarded scholarships and prizes, which are announced at the convention (this year, Sarah Rickertsen won a first-prize award for her story "Painting Milk"), and have published their work in Sigma Tau Delta’s official publications, The Review and The Rectangle.

Next year (from March 29 - April 1, 2017), the convention will be in Louisville, KY at the Marriott Louisville Downtown. Remember that submissions are also welcome for the ΣΤΔ journals The Rectangle and The Review—the former publishes creative writing, the latter critical essays. For full information, visit the Sigma Tau Delta website, www.english.org.

Members in course:  Kristin Anderson, Jordan Blank, Emma Cassabaum, Anastasia Hafner, Karin Hecht, Bryn Hedlund, Amanda Jenkins, Madi Johnson, Rebecca Lahey, Jamie Linert, Stephanie Murray, Jenna Nelson, Katherine Nelson, Megan Rachuy, Sarah Rickertsen, Emily Schoen, and Brynne Stellner

Initiates to Sigma Tau Delta: Bryan Banowitz, Emily Crowe, Emma Deihl, Nora Felt, Hailey Hansen, Bryce Hefty, Victoria Revier, Samuel Schultz, and Sierra Twesten