Portfolio System Handbook

Three Portfolios in One

Like any good educational system, the Luther College Teacher Education Program (TEP) provides multiple ways for students to demonstrate learning. The Luther College Portfolio System is one of those ways!

In a generalized way, the goals for TEP students (candidates for licensure) are to demonstrate application of the Interstate Teacher Assessment and Support Consortium (InTASC) standards, released in 1992:

  • Competency 1: Student Learning
  • Competency 2: Diverse Learners
  • Competency 3: Communication of the Learning
  • Competency 4: Learning Environment
  • Competency 5: Instructional Strategies
  • Competency 6: Planning Instruction
  • Competency 7: Assessment
  • Competency 8: Reflection & Professional Development
  • Competency 9: Relationships with Parents, Colleagues, and the Larger Community
  • Competency 10: Subject Matter Specialization for Teaching & Learning

The portfolio is a place you, the candidate, identify evidence of your demonstration of the learning. You choose the evidence and explain how the evidence demonstrates your learning.

It is also important for learners to show growth over time which the portfolio system allows. Our portfolio system includes three portfolios created by the TEP candidate over the time in the TEP.