Honors and Recognitions

The Communication Studies Department offers a variety of opportunities for students to distinguish themselves among their peers, and to receive recognition for their accomplishments. The Communication Studies Department participates in the all-college honors program, enabling students who wish to challenge themselves to take on additional research projects in certain classes. In addition, the department's faculty, recent graduates, and current students have had their work recognized in the a number of ways.

Special Recognitions

Ironhead (2015), a short subject documentary film produced by Dr. Thomas C. Johnson and Neal Abbott '15, earned honorable mention for the Walter Ordway Best of Fest Award at the 2015 Oneota Film Festival.

Dr. Powell became President of the Iowa Communication Association Conference in September 2014.

Seniors Ruonan Zheng and Neal Abbot had their Research Methods final papers competitively selected for presentation at the 2015 Iowa Communication Association Conference.

Seniors Lauren Meintsma and Jenna Hoge had senior project research competitively selected for presentation at the National Conference for Undergraduate Research (2014).

Dr. Wilder was elected as an at-large representative for the National Communication Association Nominating Committee (2013). 

Dr. Wilder was elected as an at-large representative for the Iowa Communication Association Governing Board (2013).

Saving Creativity (2012), a film by Seth Duin '12 and Bailey Cahlander '12 that examines the loss of public funding for the arts, won the Top Student Submission at the Oneota Film Festival held in Decorah. 

Rachel Woolsey ('14) won the top student paper award at the Iowa Communication Association conference, September 2012.

Dr. Powell was elected president of the Iowa Communication Association in 2013.

Jena Schwake ('14), Jessica Edblom ('14) and Maria Ellingson ('14) were honored with the Iowa Communication Association "Recognition of Achievement in Speech Communication" Award at the September 2012 meeting.

Dr. Moyer received the 2011 Religious Communication Dissertation Award from the Religious Communication Association for his dissertation: "Not Just Civil Religion: Theology in the Cases of Woodrow Wilson, John Kennedy, and Barack Obama.”

Dr. Powell received the Citation Award from the Iowa Communication Association in 2011. This is the highest award the association gives. It recognizes service to the organization and field of communication.

Dr. Powell received the top paper award from the Media Studies division of the Central States Communication Association at the 2011 convention.

Dr. Sweet received a Top Four Paper in Rhetoric and Public Address award for “Reprinting Martin Luther King Jr.: Barack Obama and the Homogenization of Injustice” presented at the Western States Communication Association annual convention, Monterey, CA, February 2011.

Mitch Zoelzer ('10) received the 2009 Top Paper award in the Iowa Communication Association student paper competition. Katrina Sikkink's ('10) autoethnography was ranked 2nd among the 8 submitted papers. The awards were presented at the Association's convention banquet on Sept. 25.

Dr. Powell has been named to the Central States Communication Association Executive Committee, 2010-2013, as editor of journal, Communication Studies.

Dr. Johns received an Alumni Achievement Award from Midland Lutheran College in April, 2009.

The Iowa Journal of Communication, edited by Dr. Powell, has received the Central States Communication Association's "Best Journal award," 2002, 2003, 2004, 2005, 2006, 2008 and again in 2009!

Dr. Powell received a Fulbright Senior Scholar Award for research at Zayed University, UAE, 2006-2007. In addition, Dr. Powell received a $28,000 grant from the U.S. State Department Middle East Partnership Initiative to conduct Public Speaking training in Dubai and Abu Dhabi, UAE.

Dr. Powell was listed in Who's Who of College and University Teachers, 2004; and in Who's Who Among American Women, 2005.

Dr. Johns' article, Modern Media and the Sermon, published in Lutheran Partners, 20(6) (November 2004) 13-15 received an "Honorable Mention" in the "Feature Article - Special Interest " category of the 2004 Associated Church Press awards in Nashville, TN, April 26, 2005.