Twin Cities Area Luncheon and Speaker Series

Open to all alumni, parents and friends of the college, the Lunch Connection is a monthly luncheon and speaker event hosted by the college. It is a great chance to network and socialize with others in the Twin Cities area and learn from interesting and dynamic speakers.

Friday, April 24, 2015

11:30 a.m. Buffet Luncheon Begins
12:00 p.m. Presentation
1:00 p.m. Event Ends

Speaker: Dr. Mark Engebretson '68, Professor of Physics at Augsburg College

“What factors influence the acceptance (or not) of new scientific ideas?  Some sobering examples from the past and present.”

BBC News recently quoted Professor Thomas Dixon of the University of London as saying, “Science and religion have had the kind of close and troubled relationship you might expect between siblings or even spouses.” In Dr. Engebretson's view, that relationship could be broadened to “science and society.” He will give some historical examples, both friendly and unfriendly, and also share a few glimpses into the way organized science now works, which may provide some insight into current conflicts.

Born in Decorah in 1946, Engebretson graduated from Luther in 1968 with majors in physics and mathematics. He sang in Chapel Choir, was a member of the Debate Team, and won a Danforth Fellowship for graduate study. Engebretson still stutters occasionally. He earned a Master of Divinity degree from Luther Seminary in St. Paul in 1972. After completing a Ph.D. in physics from the University of Minnesota in 1976, he joined the faculty at Augsburg College. In addition to teaching a variety of introductory and advanced physics courses at Augsburg, he has developed several courses on the interface between science, faith, and society. Engebretson was co-editor/author of the first Vision Document for Augsburg College in 1998, and for updates in 2005 and 2012. 

His research, supported by NASA and NSF (National Science Foundation) has focused on Earth’s space environment, including its only visible aspect, the aurora, using both ground-based and satellite instruments. A Fulbright Scholar in Germany in 1997 and a visiting scholar at the University of Oslo in 2010, Engebretson is author or co-author of more than 200 refereed scientific publications. Engebretson Peak, a mountain in Antarctica, is named in honor of his research using instruments at several locations on that continent.

$15.00 per person, please register online by noon on Thursday, April 23, 2015

The Center for Changing Lives
2400 Park Avenue South
Minneapolis, MN 55404
(612) 879-5200

The Lunch Connection dates for Spring 2015 are:
Friday, February 27, 2015 - Dr. Terry Fretheim '56, Elva B. Lovell Professor Emeritus of Old Testament, Luther Seminary
Friday, March 27, 2015 - Rev. Mark Hanson, Former Presiding Bishop, ELCA
Friday, April 24, 2015 - Dr. Mark Engebretson '68, Professor of Physics, Augsburg College

Planning Committee:
Carol Tomer `79, Scott Searl `94, Dave Seidelmann `94, Pete Newburg `97, Joel Sommers `03, Marcia Metzger, and Dan Waarvik `68 

Twin Cities Lunch Connection
Mark Engebretson '68