Scholars Program

At Luther, the scholars program offers a range of special opportunities to:

  • challenge intellectually talented students to excel academically and explore deeply
  • encourage students to develop a wide-ranging interest in the conversation of ideas
  • enrich the cultural life of the community through sharing that learning and excitement
  • enable students to become attractive candidates for graduate and professional school and professional employment
  • prepare students for exceptional achievement and service

The scholars program includes:

Designed to encourage students to develop an independent and self-motivated love of learning and a high level of engagement and accomplishment, the program both fosters and celebrates our students' achievement. All Luther students are welcome to explore these opportunities.

The scholars program is administered by Terry Sparkes, Associate Dean and Director of College Honors, and overseen by the Honors Advisory Committee, representing faculty and students from across the college:

  • Joe Breitenstein, Associate Professor Psychology
  • Todd Green, Assistant Professor of Religion
  • Katie Kovacovich, Junior
  • Claude Mertzenich, Associate Professor of Chemistry
  • Olga Michels, Associate Professor of Chemistry
  • David Pfotenhauer, Senior
  • Terry Sparkes, Associate Dean and Director of College Honors, chair